If you are interested in taking a Driving Safety Course to have your citation dismissed, you must meet the following requirements:
●Have a valid Texas driver’s license or be active duty military personnel including spouses and dependent children.
●Have insurance or other evidence of financial responsibility.
●Have not taken DSC within the past year to have a citation dismissed.
●The violation was not committed in a construction zone when workers were present.
●Cannot be speeding 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit.
IMPORTANT NOTE TO COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSE HOLDERS:
By State Statute, CDL holders WILL NOT qualify for this option, even before the Judge.
If you meet the above criteria, you may request a driving safety course on or before your appearance date on your citation. (Any request after your appearance date must be approved by the Judge.) When you make your request, you must provide the court the following 5 items:
●Payment of court costs in addition to administrative fee; payment options are cash, check, money order, visa, mastercard and discover card, in person. If you mail in your request a check or money order will only be accepted.
●A copy of your valid drivers license or permit.
●A copy of your proof of financial responsibility (or insurance) .
●A written statement indicitating your request to take a driving safety course.
●A written plea of either guilty or no contest.
Bring to the Clerks Window or mail the above stated five items, and upon approval, the court will grant you permission to take the course. If applying by mail, please wait until you have received permission from the court before you take the course. You will have 90 days in which to complete the course and obtain a certified copy of your driving record from Austin. Upon successful completion and return of your documents to the court, your citation will be dismissed. Both documents, the course completion certificate and the certified copy of your driving record, must be returned to the Court on or before the 90th day to have your citation dismissed.
Driving Safety Course Option Request Form For Mail In Request.
Online Request for Driver Record (Order directly from the Texas Department of Public Safety Website)
Cost For (DSC)
If the infraction happened inside an active school zone there will be an extra $25.00 fee for a total of $132.10
Please contact the court to verify the amount and any other information.